The New Philosopher Writers' Award is open for submissions (note that you must be a subscriber to New Philosopher or Womankind magazine to enter, you can subscribe to New Philosopher here or to Womankind here). Submissions for each award must be based around the theme for that award.


Theme: Balance, Yin/Yang, equality

Word length: Up to 1,500 words

Form: fiction or non-fiction.

Closes: Midnight September 10 2019 (EST)


Theme: Death, life, the end

Word length: Up to 1,500 words

Form: fiction or non-fiction.

Closes: Midnight November 10 2019 (EST)


Theme: Being human, the Anthropocene, empathy, good/evil

We're pleased to announce the winners of New Philosopher Writers’ Award XXIII: being human, which saw a record number of entries from around the world. In first place is psychiatrist and writer Warren Ward for his piece Human, all too human. This is the second time Warren has taken out top spot, after winning Award X 'Fame' in 2016. Economist Warwick Smith, another former winner (Award III, in 2014), has taken out second place for his essay A failure of collective intelligence. For the first time we are also awarding ‘highly commended’ to an entry: the poem growing pains by Leona Hannah Cohen.


Winner: Warren Ward

Runner-up: Warwick Smith

Highly commended: Leona Hannah Cohen



  • - John Brenkman, professor of English
    - Doug Bruns, writer
    - Leona Hannah Cohen, poet
    - Christina Easton, PhD student and NP writers' award runner-up ('Life')
    - Paul Griffiths, professor of finance
    - David Hyland-Wood, researcher and adjunct associate professor
    - Erica Greenop, writer and NP writers' award winner (on 'Luck')
    - Warwick Smith, economist and NP writers' award winner (on 'Freedom')
    - Agnes Tirrito, writer and NP writers' award winner (on 'Food')
    - Warren Ward, psychiatrist and NP writers' award winner (on 'Fame')



Entry: You must be a subscriber to enter (you can subscribe here).

Open Award: $1,000 + publication in the subsequent issue of New Philosopher magazine.

Runners-up: Publication on

Entries are open to annual subscribers of New Philosopher magazine or Womankind magazine, to subscribe now to New Philosopher click here, or to Womankind click here.

Submissions must be sent along with the writer's full name in a text file (Word, text edit or Note Pad) via email by midnight on the closing date to You can submit one entry per award.

Entries are open to annual subscribers to New Philosopher magazine at the closing date. Entries must be under 1,500 words and must be submitted by the due date for the relevant award listed above. All entrants grant New Philosopher non-exclusive rights (the writer retains copyright over the work) to publish the selected work in New Philosopher magazine and/or The winning entry/entries will be selected by the New Philosopher editorial board based on the quality of writing and the strength of  the ideas presented in the work. If there are insufficient entries or if the board is unable to determine a winner in any category the board may decide not to award a prize. All decisions are final, no correspondence will be entered into.