Issue #7: health

Writers’ Award VII (health): winners

Comments Off on Writers’ Award VII (health): winners
by New Philosopher on June 9, 2015

I’d like to thank each of you for taking the time to submit a piece. Such was the quality of the entries in this quarter’s award that any of the top fifteen pieces would have been worthy winners.

And the winner is…

Peter Kerry Powers, Dean of the School of the Humanities at Messiah College in Pennsylvania, with his piece ‘Maggots; or my father’s stories’. Peter wins the $1,000 first prize for this quarter’s award.

The runner-up is Australian author Hannah Rachel Bell with her piece about living with Motor Neurone Disease (ALS in the US) ‘Living in dying’.

Congratulations Peter and Hannah, both pieces will be published in the upcoming edition of New Philosopher. Some of the shortlisted pieces will also be published online at in the coming months – keep an eye on the website and social media (Twitter @thenewphil, Facebook @NewPhilosopherMagazine).

We look forward to reading your submissions for Award VIII ‘travel’ – a somewhat lighter topic, but at the same time a subject about which most of you would have something to write. Entries close August 31, full details are here.

And congratulations to all those who made the shortlist. Unsurprisingly, Award VII’s shortlist included a host of health care professionals: two psychiatrists, a surgeon, and a registrar. The list was rounded out by a university dean, a high school principal, an author and three professional writers.

Award VII shortlist:

Louise Barnott-Clement
Hannah Rachel Bell
Arun Chopra
Fiona Cooke
Jerath Head
Richard A. F. Pellatt
Adrian Pokorny
Peter Kerry Powers
Colin Varney
Warren Ward

Comments are closed.


Now in its fifth year, the New Philosopher Writers’ Award is open for submissions (note that you must be a

read more

Issue #18 ‘Stuff’ has arrived, you can buy a copy online, subscribe now, or visit one of the stockists listed

read more

It’s hard to avoid thinking about food, which has meant that this quarter’s award – now in its fourth year

read more